The first ‘tea and cakes’ in Joburg were sold by Roley and Budley from a mud hut in Ferreirasdorp in 1887. A mere 20 years later, Tommy Allan built a mansion, Yukon – named after the Canadian goldfields – on the side of a ridge, overlooking Bezuidenhout Valley. Yukon has been a landmark ever since.
Home to two mayors and host to Johannesburg’s high society, the house has been lovingly restored by Sir Henry and Loretta Chamberlain. With wide verandas, grand fireplaces, stained glass windows and sweeping views across the valley, this is a home to be enjoyed.
Come and discover the fascinating history of the house and its occupants. The tour includes a traditional cream tea served on the terrace – not be to missed!
You can even climb the (many) steps up the ridge behind the house for the best views.
Parking is available on the street and a car guard will be on duty.
Click here for more details and to book.
Disclaimer: Any views expressed by individuals and organisations are their own and do not in any way represent the views of The Heritage Portal.