Hollard Street was for many years the site of Johannesburg’s Stock Exchange, and it retains various historic elements such as the bold sandstone name from the original Cullinan Building, the Stamp Battery from Langlaagte and the fountain representing the golden reef.
We are most fortunate to be able to include a tour of the old Chamber of Mines building, now the Minerals Council of South Africa.
The Johannesburg Chamber of Mines was established in 1887 in the Central Hotel in Commissioner Street. The founding companies of the Chamber read like a 'who's who of Joburg history' - The Corner House, representing Wernher & Beit, and led by H Eckstein and JB Taylor; Consolidated Gold Fields led by Cecil Rhodes; the Robinson Group led by JB Robinson; and the Johannesburg Consolidated Investment Company led by Barney Barnato.
Completed between 1921 and 1923, the second Chamber of Mines Building constitutes an architectural and historic anchor in Hollard Street. Today the stepped façade of the building and spectacular cast concrete panels make it one of the City’s Art Deco treasures. But this was achieved through a remarkable reimagining of the building that was completed in 1954.
Explore this remarkable building and its surrounds with Flo Bird and Brian Kent McKechnie.
Email Eira - email@example.com
MEET: Flo Bird and Brian Kent McKechnie
PARK: In the basement of the Minerals Council – enter from Marshall Street. Meet at the fountain in Hollard Street.
DURATION: 3 hours
COST: R100 for members and R170 for non-members
MAXIMUM No: 50