Beauvais was originally built for Percival White Tracey, who had made a fortune mining diamonds – first in Kimberley, and later in Cullinan. When it was built in 1907 it was so far out of town on such appalling tracks that Tracey burst several tires while inspecting the works, and was popularly known as Tracey’s Folly!
During the ten years that the family lived at Beauvais, it was the scene of glittering social functions, as well as tragedy. Hear more about the Traceys and subsequent owners in one of Johannesburg’s most magnificent homes, and experience the painstaking task of the current owner to sensitively restore the building to its current glory.
Book at email@example.com.
GUIDES: Clare van Zwieten, Judith Cabral and Karen Curry
PARK: Beauvais – Head Office of Cargo Carriers, 11a Grace Road, Mountainview, Observatory
COST: R100 for members and R170 for non-members
DURATION: Approximately 1.5 hours
MAXIMUM No: 40